Trouble Finds Me at No. 5

America is watching and listening.  Positions 1 through 5 of my 2009 top 20 list appear to be rock solid.  Barring a tremendous late entry by A Place to Bury Strangers or the Black Angels, it’s all over except for the crying ….

…. Except for position No. 5.  Will it be:

Band of Skulls “Baby Darling Dollface Honey”

Band of Skulls Baby Darling Dollface Honey - Contestant for the 2009 Black Mountain Award

Above: Contestant for the 2009 Black Mountain Award

Or

The Horrors “Primary Colours”

Above: If Joy Division and My Bloody Valentine had goth babies

Above: If Joy Division and My Bloody Valentine had goth babies

??

The Horrors sounded smashing with the windows rolled up in the car today due to oppressive rain. Right now I anticipate more trouble from this record, i.e. will it invade the seemingly snug surroundings of my ever so smug top 4? If I were my top 4, who for sake of their own protection shall remain nameless, I’d be sweating. Knowing my proclivity for both Joy Division and My Bloody Valentine, the 4 better not hope I hear additional notes of the Jesus and Mary Chain on up-coming shitty days. And let’s face it, there will be more than 1 dreary day between now and my arbitrary cut-off date of December 15.

On the other hand, the Band of Skulls, being a contestant for the 2009 Black Mountain Award have quite a bit going for them. While 2008’s would-have-been winner, er, Black Mountain, didn’t quite crack my top 10, the BOS have too much range to be left out.

Leave a Reply

